Skip to content
tooldabba

NDA & CDS Photo & Signature Size 2026

Official upload sizes for UPSC NDA & NA and CDS, with tools already set to them. Pick a document below, add your photo and download a file that fits.

  • 100% private
  • Free · no signup
  • Works on any phone

How to use it

  1. Tap the document you want to prepare — each one is already set to fit the official rules.
  2. Select a photo or scan from your phone. For the signature, thumb or declaration, the paper is cleaned to white and cropped automatically.
  3. Check the preview: the size and KB shown must be inside the official range.
  4. Download the JPG and upload it to the NDA & CDS application form. Your live photo is taken inside the form itself.

NDA & CDS upload requirements at a glance

From the official notification — NDA & NA Examination (II) 2026 — Notice No. 10/2026-NDA-II, and CDS Examination (II) 2026 — Notice No. 11/2026-CDS-II, both dated 20.05.2026 (applications to 09.06.2026, exam 13.09.2026); common application form at upsconline.nic.in. Checked on 20 October 2026.

DocumentSizeFile sizeFormat
Photograph (passport size)Not specified20–200 KBJPG, JPEG
Live photograph (webcam / QR on mobile)Captured live in the form — nothing to upload——
Signature (three signatures in one image)350–500 px each side20–100 KBJPG, JPEG
Photo ID card (only if not using Aadhaar) (if applicable)Not specified20–200 KBJPG
Matriculation / 10th certificate (board_certificate)Not specified50–300 KBPDF
Name-change affidavit / gazette notification (if applicable) (if applicable)Not specified50–300 KBPDF

Rules for each document

Photograph (passport size)

  • Official: “Upload a photo named photo in jpg format with a file size between 20KB and 200KB.” Form note: “Allowed Photo size: 20 KB to 200 KB, File format: jpg, jpeg”. Pixel dimensions are NOT stated.
  • The file must be named exactly “photo” (e.g. photo.jpg) — the form refuses any other name.
  • Colour photo, plain white background; face covers at least 75% (3/4th) of the photo; frontal view, head centred, both ears visible; eyes open; natural expression.
  • Not accepted: dark background, uniform, coloured/dark glasses. No shadows on face or background; avoid glare on spectacles. “Photograph is NOT to be signed.”

Live photograph (webcam / QR on mobile)

  • Both notices (Note 2): “Applicants are required to upload their photograph and also capture their live photograph while filling up the Common Application Form (CAF).”
  • “The live photograph captured during the application process shall be matched with the passport-size photograph uploaded by the applicant. If a mismatch is detected between the two photographs, the applicant shall not be allowed to proceed further.”
  • Good lighting; face clearly visible. Capture from the device webcam, or scan the QR code and use a phone.

Signature (three signatures in one image)

  • Official: “File size: 20 KB – 100 KB … Image dimensions: 350 - 500 pixels”; form note: “The height and width of signature image must be between 350 and 500 pixels”.
  • Both notices (Note 3): “Applicants are required to sign three times (one below the other) on a plain white paper using black ink and upload the same”. Adequate gap between signatures; all three in one image, properly oriented, on unruled paper.
  • File must be named exactly “signature”. “Applications with signature files that do not meet the prescribed specifications will be rejected.”

Photo ID card (only if not using Aadhaar)

  • Portal document table: Photo ID — jpg — 20KB–200KB — file name id_card.
  • Both notices: keep the same photo ID for the exam and the SSB; Aadhaar is strongly advised for easy verification.

Matriculation / 10th certificate (board_certificate)

  • Portal document table: Matriculation Board / Equivalent Certificate — Matriculation Profile — pdf — 50KB–300KB — file name board_certificate.

Name-change affidavit / gazette notification (if applicable)

  • Portal document table: Name change Affidavit / Gazette Notification — Identity Profile — pdf — 50KB–300KB — file name name_change.

General instructions

  • Neither notice prints a size: Notes 2–4 send candidates to “Instructions and FAQs” and “Instructions to upload documents” on upsconline.nic.in. Those are the same rules as UPSC CSE 2026.
  • Account, Universal Registration (URN) and the Common Application Form are common to all UPSC examinations — the photo and signature uploaded there are reused for every UPSC exam you apply to.
  • Face authentication of every candidate at the examination venue (para 11 of both notices).

Where these numbers come from

Every value on this page is taken from the official Union Public Service Commission documents below. If a newer notification is out, it takes priority.

Where official sources disagree

  • Photo pixel size is not stated anywhere official (figures like 350–1000 px on coaching sites are unverified).
  • The UPSC form's own code counts KB as file bytes ÷ 1024 when it checks the photo (20–200 KB) and signature (20–100 KB) limits.

Next update: NDA & NA (I) 2027 and CDS (I) 2027 notices are due 02.12.2026 per UPSC's Calendar 2027 — re-check then.

Other police & defence exams

See photo and signature sizes for all exams.

Frequently asked questions

What is the photo size for NDA & CDS?

As per the official notification: Not specified, file size 20–200 KB, format JPG / JPEG. A live photo is also captured in the form and matched with the uploaded one.

What is the signature size for NDA & CDS?

As per the official notification: 350–500 px each side, file size 20–100 KB, format JPG / JPEG.

Is 1 KB 1000 or 1024 bytes on these forms?

Notifications don't say, so ToolDabba keeps files safely inside the band — at most 1000 bytes per KB of the maximum and at least 1024 bytes per KB of the minimum — so the file passes either way.

Are my photo and signature uploaded to ToolDabba?

No. Everything is processed inside your browser; your files never leave your phone or computer.