How to use it
- Tap the document you want to prepare — each one is already set to fit the official rules.
- Select a photo or scan from your phone. For the signature, thumb or declaration, the paper is cleaned to white and cropped automatically.
- Check the preview: the size and KB shown must be inside the official range.
- Download the JPG and upload it to the AFCAT application form. Your live photo is taken inside the form itself.
AFCAT upload requirements at a glance
From the official notification — AFCAT 02/2026 for courses commencing July 2027 — online applications 20.05.2026 – 19.06.2026, online exam 08.08.2026. Checked on 20 October 2026.
| Document | Size | File size | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recent passport-size colour photograph | Not specified | 100–200 KB | JPG, JPEG |
| Live photograph (device camera / webcam) | Captured live in the form — nothing to upload | — | — |
| Signature | Not specified | 80–150 KB | JPG, JPEG |
| Thumb impression (left thumb for men, right thumb for women) | Not specified | 50–100 KB | JPG, JPEG |
| Printed passport-size photos for the exam centre and AFSB | Printed copy, not uploaded | — | — |
Rules for each document
Recent passport-size colour photograph
- Official: “The size of the scanned image should be between 100KB to 200KB in jpg/jpeg format only.” Pixel / cm size NOT stated.
- “The photograph must be a recent passport size colour picture with a light background.” “The photograph should be taken while looking straight at the camera with a relaxed face.”
- Upload table 10.1: “Upload un-attested recent passport size colour photograph (front portrait without headgear, except for Sikhs)”.
- “Name of Photo File should be Passport Photograph.jpg or Passport Photograph.jpeg”.
- “Candidates should ensure that the same photograph is used throughout this recruitment process.”
Live photograph (device camera / webcam)
- Upload table 10.4: “Live Image Capture — Capturing Candidate Live image via device camera”. No pixel, KB or format is stated.
Signature
- Official: “Size of file should be between 80KB to 150KB in Jpg/jpeg format only.” Pixel size NOT stated.
- “The applicant has to sign on white paper with Black ink pen.” “Please scan the signature area only and not the entire page.” Signed only by the applicant.
- “Name of the Signature File should be Signature.jpg or Signature.jpeg.”
Thumb impression (left thumb for men, right thumb for women)
- Official: “Male candidates should upload their left thumb, and Female candidates should upload their right thumb - created by pressing on ink stamp pad and then on plain blank paper.”
- “Size of the file should be between 50KB to 100KB”. Pixel size NOT stated.
- “Name of Thumb Impression File should be Thumb Impression.jpg or Thumb Impression.jpeg.”
Printed passport-size photos for the exam centre and AFSB
- Exam day (para 8.5.1.5): “Two passport size colour photographs- same as the photo uploaded during online application (to be pasted, not stapled on Admit Card next to the printed photo and on attendance sheet at the exam centre).”
- AFSB (para 9.11.11): “twenty copies of recent passport size colour photographs taken in light coloured clothes against white background for documentation.”
General instructions
- Apply at afcat.edcil.co.in (the old afcat.cdac.in address returns 404). Keep the last 4 digits of Aadhaar ready.
- Verification of admit card, ID proof, biometrics and photograph capture at the exam centre before seating.
- AFCAT 01/2026 notification has the same photo / signature / thumb numbers and file names.
Where these numbers come from
Every value on this page is taken from the official Indian Air Force documents below. If a newer notification is out, it takes priority.
- AFCAT 02/2026 notification (Air Force, courses commencing July 2027)
- AFCAT 01/2026 notification — same upload numbers
- AFCAT official website
Where official sources disagree
- Thumb format: the Step-II instructions say “in jpg/jpeg and pdf formats only”, the upload table (10.3) says “JPEG/JPG format”. JPG satisfies both.
- The file-name rule is written as “should be”; the TCS iON form itself could not be checked without logging in.
Next update: AFCAT 01/2027 notification expected around November–December 2026.