Skip to content
tooldabba

CSIR NET Photo & Signature Size 2026

Official upload sizes for CSIR NET (Joint CSIR-UGC NET), with tools already set to them. Pick a document below, add your photo and download a file that fits.

  • 100% private
  • Free · no signup
  • Works on any phone

How to use it

  1. Tap the document you want to prepare — each one is already set to fit the official rules.
  2. Select a photo or scan from your phone. For the signature, thumb or declaration, the paper is cleaned to white and cropped automatically.
  3. Check the preview: the size and KB shown must be inside the official range.
  4. Download the JPG and upload it to the CSIR NET application form. Your live photo is taken inside the form itself.

CSIR NET upload requirements at a glance

From the official notification — Joint CSIR-UGC NET December 2026 Information Bulletin (07.10.2026), applications 07.10.2026 – 05.11.2026 (late fee to 09.11.2026). Checked on 20 October 2026.

DocumentSizeFile sizeFormat
Passport size photographNot specified10–200 KBJPG, JPEG
Live photograph (webcam / QR on mobile)Captured live in the form — nothing to upload——
SignatureNot specified10–50 KBJPG, JPEG
Category certificate (formats in Annexure XII–XIV) (if applicable)Not specified50–300 KBPDF
PwD/PwBD disability certificate / UDID (if applicable)Not specified50–300 KBPDF
Result Awaited Attestation Form (Annexure XI) (if applicable)Not specified50–300 KBPDF
Identity proof (only if not verified via Aadhaar / DigiLocker) (if applicable)Not specified10–200 KBJPG, JPEG
2 printed passport size photos for exam dayPrinted copy, not uploaded——

Rules for each document

Passport size photograph

  • Official: “Size of the photograph should be between 10 kb to 200 kb and in JPG/JPEG format (clearly legible).” Pixel / cm size NOT stated.
  • “recent Scanned passport size photograph which should be in colour with 80% face (including ears, without a mask) against white background.” Colour only — UGC NET also allows black & white.
  • Keep 2 extra copies of the same photo for the exam: they are pasted on the admit card and the attendance sheet.

Live photograph (webcam / QR on mobile)

  • Captured inside the application form: “switch on their camera or connect their webcam … If your device does not support a webcam, QR code … can be scanned by the candidate using a mobile device/tablet”. No size / KB / format stated.
  • “Candidates should ensure there is a light-colored background with proper lighting, and 80% face visibility (including ears, without a mask).”

Signature

  • Official: “Signature file should be JPG/JPEG format (clearly legible) between 10 kb to 50 kb”. Dimensions, ink and style NOT stated.

Category certificate (formats in Annexure XII–XIV)

  • Official: “Category Certificate: to be uploaded (if applicable) … File size must be between 50 kb to 300 kb (in PDF Format only).” The form replica shows the same: PDF, min 50 KB, max 300 KB.

PwD/PwBD disability certificate / UDID

  • Official: “Scanned copy of Disability/UDID certificate should be a pdf between 50 kb to 300 kb (clearly legible).”

Result Awaited Attestation Form (Annexure XI)

  • Official: “Result Awaited Attestation Form: to be uploaded (if applicable) (Annexure XI) — File size must be between 50 kb to 300 kb (in PDF Format only).”

Identity proof (only if not verified via Aadhaar / DigiLocker)

  • Official: “Scanned copy of Identity Proof (for those candidates who will verify their identities through methods other than Aadhaar or DigiLocker) should be in format JPG/JPEG between 10 kb to 200 kb (clearly legible).”

2 printed passport size photos for exam day

  • “02 Additional Passport Size photograph (same as uploaded on the Online Application Form) to be pasted on the admit card and the attendance sheet (in examination Room/ Hall).”

General instructions

  • Spec text on PDF pp. 7–8 (printed 6–7). The Document Upload screen in the form replica (PDF p. 69) shows photo JPG/JPEG 10–200 KB, signature JPG/JPEG 10–50 KB, category certificate PDF 50–300 KB — same as the text.
  • Differs from UGC NET December 2026: the photo must be in colour, and the category certificate, result-awaited attestation form and identity proof (non-Aadhaar) are also uploads.
  • Exam dates in the bulletin: 19, 22 and 27 December 2026.

Where these numbers come from

Every value on this page is taken from the official National Testing Agency (NTA) for CSIR and UGC documents below. If a newer notification is out, it takes priority.

Next update: Joint CSIR-UGC NET June 2027 bulletin expected in the first half of 2027.

Other entrance exams exams

See photo and signature sizes for all exams.

Frequently asked questions

What is the photo size for CSIR NET?

As per the official notification: Not specified, file size 10–200 KB, format JPG / JPEG. A live photo is also captured in the form and matched with the uploaded one.

What is the signature size for CSIR NET?

As per the official notification: Not specified, file size 10–50 KB, format JPG / JPEG.

Is 1 KB 1000 or 1024 bytes on these forms?

Notifications don't say, so ToolDabba keeps files safely inside the band — at most 1000 bytes per KB of the maximum and at least 1024 bytes per KB of the minimum — so the file passes either way.

Are my photo and signature uploaded to ToolDabba?

No. Everything is processed inside your browser; your files never leave your phone or computer.